ATV Riders Message Board Articles Reviews Videos Photo Gallery wallpaper Links ATV SxS News Interviews Racing News Models Donations Quad of the Month Contact Us

ATV MX Championship
Ironman Raceway
Crawfordsville, Indiana
May 13, 2017

AMA ATV Motocross Championship

Joel Hetrick Takes Ironman Pro ATV MX Win
Chad Wienen & Jeffrey Rastrelli Round Out the Pro ATV MX Podium

Crawfordsville, IN (5/13/2017) - The 2017 Wiseco ATV Motocross National Championship (ATVMX) presented by CST Tires, an AMA National Championship, continued today, May 13, at the iconic Ironman Raceway in Crawfordsville, Indiana. After nearly a month since the last race, the weather provided top-notch racing conditions where Maxxis/Elka/Liquid Wrench/Honda’s Joel Hetrick was able to land his first overall win of the season against a stacked field of riders.
Pro ATV MX Podium
Pro ATV Motocross Podium (left to right)
Chad Wienen (2nd), Joel Hetrick (1st), Jeffrey Rastrelli (3rd)

The day kicked off with five-time champion and current points leader, Chad Wienen earning the Top Qualifier Award. Wienen looked to carry his momentum to the moto one holeshot, but his Wienen Motorsports/SSi Decals/Walsh Racecraft/Yamaha/Maxxis/7240-backed machine was edged out by Hetrick for the SSi Decals Holeshot Award.

Joel Hetrick ATV Motocross
Joel Hetrick claimed the SSi Decals Holeshot Award in Moto One, but dropped back to a 2nd place finish

Wienen hung on the rear wheels of Hetrick and the duo began to produce some of the fastest lap times of the day as they put a gap on the rest of the field. Not much changed until the mid-way point of the moto where Wienen was able to move into the lead. Hetrick continued to charge and looked to regain the lead quickly, but Wienen showed no sign of slowing down. With only one lap to go, Hetrick gave it everything he had, but had to settle for second behind Wienen.

Chad Wienen ATV MX

#1 Chad Wienen claimed the Moto One Win ironman Raceway

With much of the focus on the two front-runners, JB Racing/Root River Racing’s Jeffrey Rastrelli and Root River Racing/CST Tires/Pro Motorsports-backed Thomas Brown slide under the radar, but also found themselves in a heated battle throughout the entire moto. Rastrelli held off Brown and finished third, with Brown and GennUSA Racing’s Nick Gennusa rounding out the top five for the first moto.

Jeffrey Rastrelli ATV MX

Jeffrey Rastrelli claimed the final spot on the podium

“It was a tough pace to keep up with, we gapped those guys pretty good the first few laps, and I knew it was going to be a hard race,” said Hetrick. “Wienen and I kept rubbing, but I’m pleased with the first moto. I found some pretty good laps once Wienen got around me, so I’m looking to put those to use next moto.”

The second moto holeshot was almost identical to the first, with Hetrick taking the holeshot followed by Wienen. Rastrelli pinched out Wienen for second and then moved into the lead, but it didn’t take long for Hetrick to move back into first. Wienen began to ride with a little bit of a gap between him and Rastrelli.

“The track was a little slick the second moto so I didn’t want to be sitting back there taking all the roost from those guys up front,” said Wienen. “I needed to come out a little more aggressive and make some moves to get up there quickly. The holeshot was awful, and I need to come out harder.”

While Wienen was off to a not-so-favorable start, Gennusa greatly improved from the first moto and sat inside the top-five. Wienen continued to ride in third for the first few laps, but started riding more assertive as the race progressed. Wienen made a pass for the runner-up position on lap four as they raced by the mechanic’s area. Wienen set his eyes on the top spot, but Hetrick used the clear track to his advantage and already had a large lead over the rest of the pack.

Joel Hetrick ATV Motocross
Joel Hetrick went 2-1 for his first overall win of the year

Wienen settled into a fast pace, but Hetrick’s speed was un-matched in the second moto where he was able to take his first overall win of the season with a 2-1 moto tally. Wienen followed with second overall, and a pair of third place finishes placed Rastrelli in the overall standings with third.

“I felt like we had a good 1-1 going for us, but it just wasn’t in the cards today,” reported Wienen. “I’m happy with how our team did today.”

Nick Gennusa ATV MX

Nick Gennusa finished in the 4th overall going 5-4

Brown continued to keep them honest, but succumbed to the pressure from Gennusa with only three laps to go. Gennusa finished just off the overall podium in fourth, followed by Brown and Root River Racing’s Josh Upperman in fifth and sixth overall.

Thomas Brown ATV MX

Thomas Brown is currently 3rd in the Pro ATV Points

Baldwin Motorsports/Ford Brother's Racing/Root River Racing’s Ronnie Higgerson earned seventh overall. After crashing on the first moto holeshot, Walsh Racecraft/Honda’s Parker Wewerka proved he has the skill and drive to land a spot on the overall podium in the near future, but had to take eighth overall at the Ironman ATVMX National.

Media All-Stars’ Zach Kaczmarzyk had his best-ever finish with ninth overall, and Root River Racing’s Dylan Tremellen rounded out the top ten overall in Indiana.

Today’s racing action was broadcast LIVE in its entirety on and can be viewed as an archived video now online by visiting the ATVMX LIVE page online. A highlight show featuring the event will air on MAVTV later this summer.

The ATVMX circuit continues with round five in three weeks, June 3 and 4, at the popular Muddy Creek Raceway in Blountville, Tennessee.

2017 AMA ATV Motocross Race Results
Round 3 - Monster Mountain MX
Pro ATV Motocross Overall Race Results:
  1. Joel Hetrick (2-1)
  2. Chad Wienen (1-2)
  3. Jeffrey Rastrelli (3-3)
  4. Nick Gennusa (5-4)
  5. Thomas Brown (4-5)
  6. Josh Upperman (7-6)
  7. Ronnie Higgerson (6-7)
  8. Parker Wewerka (8-8)
  9. Zach Kaczmarzyk (11-10)
  10. Dylan Tremellen (12-12)

Pro ATV Motocross Points Standing:

  1. Chad Wienen (166)
  2. Joel Hetrick (151)
  3. Thomas Brown (131)
  4. Nick Gennusa (122)
  5. Jeffrey Rastrelli (122)
  6. Ronnie Higgerson (106)
  7. Josh Upperman (100)
  8. Parker Wewerka (94)
  9. Westley Wolfe (68)
  10. Brett Musick (65)
SSi Decals Holeshot Award Standings:
  1. Joel Hetrick (7)
  2. Cole Sepesi (2)
  3. Chad Wienen (1) Top Qualifier Award Standings:

  1. Joel Hetrick (2)
  2. Chad Wienen (2)


AMA ATV Motocross Logo

Copyright 2002-2022, ATV Riders All Rights Reserved - ATV Riders Forum - Message Board - Archive