ATV Riders Message Board Articles Reviews Videos Photo Gallery wallpaper Links ATV SxS News Interviews Racing News Models Donations Quad of the Month Contact Us

2012 GNCC ATV Racing Series
Round #5 - The Mammoth
Park City, Kentucky
April 28, 2012

Can-Am GNCC Racing - Grand National Cross Country Racing Series

Chris Borich & Walker Fowler Duke it Out at Mammoth GNCC

Borich seemed to stalk Fowler on the penultimate lap, attempting a pass multiple times in the grass track section leading into the finish for the white flag lap, moves that would ultimately pay off on the final lap for Borich. Heading into the pits for the final time, Borich struck but the Yamaha rider quickly took the lead back from him. As the two came barreling into sight on the final lap it was Fowler who had the lead but Borich put his last minute move on the rookie once again in the final turns of the race and locked up his fourth win of the season, only one second ahead of Fowler’s valiant second place effort.

Chris Boirch - Suzuki LTR450 ATV
Maxxis' Chris Borich took his fourth win of the 2012 GNCC ATV Racing Season
“Chris Borich is every bit as close to Superman as they come,” said Fowler. “For me to get the Holeshot and lead every bit of that race besides the last 30 seconds is pretty cool, but second place isn’t where I want to be. I want to be where the guy on my left is [Borich] and that’s what we’re going to keep working towards.”

Kiser came through only six seconds later to claim the final spot on the podium in front of Ballance Racing’s hometown crowd. Kiser explained on the podium after the race that he was in contention for the lead with Kiser and Borich but after he hit a tree on the final lap, he wasn’t able to make up enough time to stick with the leading duo at the end.


GNCC XC1 PRO ATV Podium (left to right)
Walker Fowler (2nd) , Chris Borich (1st) , Taylor Kiser (3rd)

Bryan Cook - Honda TRX 450R ATV
DeRisi Racing's Bryan Cook rounded out the Top 5 once again
DeRisi Racing-backed Bryan Cook grabbed his second consecutive fifth place finish this year in his first season as a part-time racer. Cook edged out Waynesburg Yamaha’s Jeff Pickens, who finished out the day in sixth place. BNR’s Kevin Yoho came in seventh, just ahead of GBC/Cernics/HMF/Yamaha’s Johnny Gallagher, who battled through a leg injury that had him on crutches just days before the race.

JG Offroad/FRE/American Honda’s Brian Wolf has been battling a hand infection for the last few rounds and things got pretty bad for the Ohio native when he couldn’t hang on any longer and was forced to pull off. Same story for the Motoworks/Can-Am ride of Chris Bithell, who battled chain issues on his machine all day long and was immediately thrown out of contention.

Waynesburg Yamaha’s Gabe Phillips is the first Pro Am racer to hold two wins under his belt so far this season, as he took home the XC2 Pro Am win. DeRisi Racing teammates Eric Hoyland and Braden Henthorn went at it all afternoon to grab the other two podium spots, but this time it was Hoyland’s experience that took over when he beat out the rookie for the runner-up spot. The tough Kentucky course got the best of a lot of riders and quite a few of the normal front-runners were shaken up a bit. Patrick McGuire ran into some issues early on but was able to salvage a fifth place for the day, just behind Greg’s ATV & Cycle’s Matt Hanna who took home the fourth spot.

GNCC Pro-Am XC2 ATV Podium

XC2 PRO-AM ATV Podium (left to right)
Braden Henthorn (3rd), Gabe Phillips (1st) , Eric Hoyland (2nd)

Junior A (22+) winner David Reeves took home the Top Amateur Award aboard his DeRisi Racing Honda with a season-best 21st overall, beating out Junior A (22+) runner-up Fred Marley.

It was GT Thunder’s Dave Simmons who topped the AM overall once again, besting the entire field of some of the best amateur and 4X4 racers in the country, while also taking home yet another Super Senior (45+) win. Yamaha Racing’s Traci Cecco extended her points lead in the Women’s class with another class-win over Lexie Coulter and the two Women’s class competitors joined Simmons in the AM overall podium, honoring the fastest riders of the morning.

Can-Am X-Team’s Bryan Buckhannon bested the 4X4 division while also taking home a class win in 4X4 Open, beating out Team UXC’s Michael Swift in the class. Swift landed second on the overall 4X4 podium, followed by 4X4 Lites winner Kevin Trantham, who rounded out the overall 4X4 podium honors. Zakowski Motorsports/Can-Am rider Zac Zakowski came in a close fourth, while Clif Beasley rounded out the top five in 4X4 action.

GNCC Morning ATV Podium

Morning ATV Podium (left to right)
Traci Cecco (2nd), Dave Simmon (1st) , Lexie Coulter (3rd)

Ohio’s Cody Collier once again topped the 90 Open (12-15) class, as well as the overall Youth victory, over Tennessee’s Drew Landers and South Carolina’s Zachary Jones. The top three from the (12-15) division also made up the overall podium celebration. Defending Youth champion Hunter Hart was back in action at The Mammoth, but this time he wasn’t exactly in the lead. Hart is still recovering from a broken leg earlier in the season, but the young rider attempted to score some class points, finishing thirteenth in his class.

Round five of the 2012 Can-Am Grand National Cross Country Series heads to Springville, Indiana May 12 and 13 for the Limestone 100 GNCC. For more information, go to

Pro XC1 & Pro-Am XC2 Top 10 ATV Race Results & Point Standings

XC1 Pro ATV Race Results:
Chris Borich (SUZ)
Walker Fowler (YAM)
Taylor Kiser (YAM)
Jarrod McClure (HON)
Bryan Cook (HON)
Jeff Pickens (YAM)
Kevin Yoho (YAM)
Johnny Gallagher (YAM)
Derek Swartfager (HON)
Craig Bowman (HON) )

XC1 Pro ATV Point Standings:
Chris Borich (141) (4 wins)
Adam McGill (92)
Taylor Kiser (91) (1 win)
Walker Fowler (87)
Chris Bithell (80)
Jarrod McClure (67)
Brian Wolf (66)
Johnny Gallagher (66)
Jeff Pickens (66)
Kevin Yoho (62)

XC2 Pro ATV Race Results:
Gabe Phillips (YAM)
Eric Hoyland (HON)
Braden Henthorn (HON)
Matt Hanna (YAM)
Patrick McGuire (YAM)
Michael Lancaster (HON)
Josh Merritt (YAM)
James Green (HON)
Mike Sroka (YAM)
Randy Hamilton (HON)

XC2 Pro ATV Point Standings:
Eric Hoyland (115) (1 win)
Patrick McGuire (107) (1 win)
Braden Henthorn (104) (1 win)
Gabe Phillips (96) (2 wins)
Matt Hanna (74)
Michael Lancaster (69)
Josh Merritt (60)
Nathan Thomas (58)
Nathan Wallpe (51)
Blake Kramer (48)

$250 Holeshot Award: Walker Fowler (YAM)
$100 Pro Am Holeshot Award:
Eric Hoyland (HON)

1 ::Page 2::

Copyright 2002-2022, ATV Riders All Rights Reserved - ATV Riders Forum - Message Board - Archive